

Budget Committee Minutes City of Peterborough January 25 and January 27, 2011 Draft Minutes Not Approved

Minutes of a Meeting of the Budget Committee Held on January 25, 2011 in the Council Chambers, City Hall and January 27, 2011 in the Multipurpose Room, Evinrude Centre

The Budget Committee meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers.

Roll Call:

Councillor Beamer
Councillor Clarke, Chair
Councillor Doris
Councillor Hall
Councillor Juby 7:06 p.m.
Councillor McWilliams
Councillor Pappas
Councillor Parnell
Councillor Riel
Councillor Vass
Mayor Bennett

Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest.

Moved by Councillor Parnell

That the rules of order be suspended (Article 16.10.1) to change the order of speakers list.

"CARRIED"

Moved by Councillor Parnell

That Janet Ali, and Lois Harte-Maxwell from the Council for Persons for Disabilities be moved to the beginning of the list of delegations.

"CARRIED"

Delegations

The following individuals made a delegation to the 2011 Budget:

Janet Ali and Lois Harte-Maxwell, The Council for Persons for Disabilities Marie Bongard Hajni Hos Dennis Carter-Edwards, Hutchison House

Councilor Pappas left the meeting at 7:27 p.m. and returned at 7:47 p.m.

The meeting recessed at 7:30 p.m. and reconvened at 7:47 p.m.

Elaine Laliberte and Bryce Norman, Lions Community Centre Karen August, Market Hall Kevin Breese, Peterborough Rugby Union Football Club Darrell Lamond, Simons Rate Payers Association Lynn Hopkins Charmaine Pickford Kathy Blackwood, Kawartha Participation Projects Anna Marie Bolin

Moved by Councilor Vass

That Council suspend the rules of order (Article 16.8.2) to allow delegations past 9:00 p.m.

"CARRIED"

Councillor Clarke requested that the order be rearranged to accommodate delegations who require the Handivan.

Elaine Hewitt
Marilyn Sutherland
Linda Robinson
Peter Bascan
Sandra Whatman
Rodney Marois
Elaine Covert
Roy Brady
John O'Leary
Andrew Laufer
Amanda Robb

Moved by Councillor Hall

That the rules of order be suspended (Article 16.15.2) to extend the hour of adjournment past 10:00 p.m. to complete all registered delegations.

"CARRIED"

Robert Hailman Diana Sheppard Pamela Fulton

Moved by Councillor Pappas

That this meeting of the Budget Committee recess at 10:25 p.m. and reconvene on Thursday January 27, 2011 at 6:30 p.m.

"CARRIED"

Kevin Arjoon Deputy City Clerk

Councillor H. Clarke Chairman

Budget Committee reconvened at 6:30 p.m., January 27, 2011 in the Multi-Purpose room of the Evinrude Centre. All members were in attendance. Councillor Beamer joined the meeting at 6:50 p.m.

Delegations

The following individuals made a delegation to the 2011 Budget:

Gary Sagar

Maryam Monsef

Barry Boyce

Laura Chandas

Brianna Simons

Phil Mechetuk

Tom Young

Amanda Lickers

Sally Goodwin

Zack Ruiter

Roy Beauman with Cheryl Lyon

Bonnita Herriott

Carl Sheerna

Nancy Jackson

Sharon Kelly

Desmond Carabine

Dennis Wallwark

Sara Elmhurst

Travis

Sara Bureau

Dan Markley

Enst Cheejiioannou

Holly Norris

Shelley McGregor

Austin Diener

Moved by Councillor Pappas

That the rules of order be suspended (Article 16.8.2) to allow delegations to continue past 9:00 p.m.

"CARRIED"

Councillor Juby left the meeting at 8:53 p.m. and returned at 8:56 p.m.

Councillor Pappas left the meeting at 8:55 pm. and returned at 9:00 p.m.

Kashia Janik Alysia Aliahamp-Parsons

Councillor Beamer and Councillor Hall left the meeting at 9:03 p.m. and returned at 9:05 p.m.

Stewart Morris
Cindy Cameron
Terry Staples
Jason Cole
Michelle Fletcher
Mr. Shaw
Jessy Cheschewie
Autumn Corbus
George Horton
Maria Harragio
Morgan Mecker
Tina Williams
Julie Crabe

Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Pappas

That this meeting of Budget Committee adjourn at 9:40 p.m.

"CARRIED"

Nancy Wright-Laking City Clerk

Councillor H. Clarke Chairman