

General Committee Minutes

Council Chambers, City Hall

February 24, 2025

Present: Councillor Baldwin

Councillor Beamer, Chair

Councillor Bierk

Councillor Crowley (electronic)

Councillor Duguay Councillor Haacke Councillor Lachica Mayor Leal (electronic) Councillor Parnell Councillor Riel

Councillor Vassiliadis

Staff: Brad Appleby, Director, Planning, Development and Urban Design

Richard Freymond, Commissioner, Finance and Corporate Support

Services

Natalie Garnett, Deputy City Clerk

John Kennedy, City Clerk

Sheldon Laidman, Commissioner, Community Services

Bill McDougall, Analyst, Budget and Operations Jennifer McFarlane, Director, People and Culture

Blair Nelson, Commissioner, Infrastructure, Planning & Growth Management

David Potts, Commissioner, Legislative Services, City Solicitor

Jasbir Raina, Chief Administrative Officer

Ilmar Simanovskis, Commissioner, Municipal Operations

Brendan Wedley, Director, Strategic Communications & Service

Peterborough

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 4:38 p.m.

Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest

There were no declarations of Pecuniary Interest.

Councillor Parnell assumed the Chair, as Chair of Planning

Public Meeting under The Planning Act

MDEC25-1: Zoning By-law Amendment and Site Plan Control Exemption for the Brock Mission Transitional Housing Project at 738 Chemong Road

The following spoke to the application.

Sarah McNeilly, Aylmer Street
Spencer Allen, Aylmer Street
Denise Campbell, 768 Bethune Street
Julie Gray, 268 Aberdeen Avenue
Chris Kurak, 250 Aberdeen Avenue
Larry Stinson, 269 Aberdeen Avenue
James Wallwork, Mason Avenue
Michele Adams
Jeanette McCaskill, Aberdeen Avenue
Ken Watson, 749 Bethune Street
Robert Niergarth, 15 Manning Avenue
Greg Simon, 192 Aberdeen Avenue
Marie Laird, 741 Bethune Street
Tanna Edwards, 764 Bethune Street
Diana Keay, D.M. Wills Associates Limited

Committee recessed at 8:10 p.m. and reconvened at 8:28 p.m.

Moved by Mayor Leal

That respecting Strong Mayor Decision MDEC25-1, By-laws 25-051 and 25-052 (as updated) to exempt development from Site Plan Control and to amend the Zoning at 738 Chemong Road, be approved.

For (4): Councillor Baldwin, Councillor Duguay, Mayor Leal, and Councillor Parnell

Against (7): Councillor Beamer, Councillor Bierk, Councillor Crowley, Councillor Haacke, Councillor Lachica, Councillor Riel, and Councillor Vassiliadis

Carried (4 to 7) (Strong Mayor Powers)

Adjournment

Carried (11 to 0)

Moved by Councillor Duquay

That this meeting be adjourned at 9:21 p.m.

For (11): Councillor Baldwin, Councillor Beamer, Councillor Bierk, Councillor Crowley, Councillor Duguay, Councillor Haacke, Councillor Lachica, Mayor Leal, Councillor Parnell, Councillor Riel, and Councillor Vassiliadis

John Kennedy		
City Clerk		

Councillor Beamer