

Special General Committee Minutes

Electronic Meeting

February 27, 2023

Present: Councillor Baldwin

Councillor Beamer, Chair

Councillor Bierk Councillor Crowley Councillor Duguay Councillor Haacke Councillor Lachica

Mayor Leal

Councillor Parnell Councillor Riel

Councillor Vassiliadis

Staff: Brad Appleby, Director of Planning

Sandra Clancy, Chief Administrative Officer

Richard Freymond, Commissioner of Corporate and Legislative Services

Natalie Garnett, Deputy City Clerk

James Istchenko, Environmental Services Director

Sheldon Laidman, Commissioner of Community Services

David Potts, City Solicitor

Jasbir Raina, Commissioner of Infrastructure and Planning

Tom Street, Committee Support Specialist

Brendan Wedley, Manager of Communication Services

Closed Session - 4:30 p.m., Doris Room

Moved by Councillor Parnell

That Committee meets in Closed Session to discuss one item under Section 239(2)(b) Personal matters about an identifiable individual, including municipal or local board employees and Section 239(2)(d) Labour relations or employee negotiations.

Carried

Open Session - 5:50 p.m., Council Chambers

Declaration of Pecuniary Interest

There were no declarations of Pecuniary Interest.

Report of Closed Session

CAO Recruitment

Moved by Mayor Leal

That, working with the Phelps Group over the next 3-4 months, a Recruitment Selection Committee comprised of the Mayor and Councillors Andrew Beamer, Gary Baldwin, Kevin Duguay and Lesley Parnell be formed to review and interview a shortlist of candidates before a preferred candidate is presented to Council for the Chief Administrative Officer position.

For (11): Councillor Baldwin, Councillor Beamer, Chair, Councillor Bierk, Councillor Crowley, Councillor Duguay, Councillor Haacke, Councillor Lachica, Mayor Leal, Councillor Parnell, Councillor Riel, and Councillor Vassiliadis

Carried (11 to 0)

Adjournment

Moved by Mayor Leal

That this meeting adjourn at 5:53 p.m.

For (11): Councillor Baldwin, Councillor Beamer, Chair, Councillor Bierk, Councillor Crowley, Councillor Duguay, Councillor Haacke, Councillor Lachica, Mayor Leal, Councillor Parnell, Councillor Riel, and Councillor Vassiliadis

Carried (11 to 0)	
Natalie Garnett	
Deputy City Clerk	
Councillor Beamer	