

To: Members of the General Committee

From: Mayor Diane Therrien

Meeting Date: December 1, 2020

Subject: Report COU20-001

**Council Appointments to Committees and Boards** 

# **Purpose**

A report recommending the appointment of Members of Council to various Committees, Portfolios, and Boards.

# Recommendations

That Council approve the recommendations outlined in Report COU20-001, dated December 1 2020, as follows:

That the following appointments of Members of Council to Committees, Portfolios and Boards be approved for a one-year term ending November 30, 2021, with the appointments as follow:

## a) Standing committees

Finance Committee (all Members of Council)

Dean Pappas, Chair Keith Riel, Vice Chair

**General Committee** (all Members of Council)

Andrew Beamer, Chair Keith Riel, Vice Chair

#### **Deputy Mayor**

Andrew Beamer, First Deputy Mayor Kemi Akapo, Second Deputy Mayor

### b) Portfolios

Keith Riel, Chair of Arts, Culture and Heritage Dean Pappas, Chair of Finance Andrew Beamer, Chair of Fire Services Kim Zippel, Vice-Chair of Fire Services Don Vassiliadis, Chair of Public Works Keith Riel, Chair of Social Services Kemi Akapo, Chair of Transportation Don Vassiliadis, Co-Chair of Transportation Gary Baldwin, Chair of Waste Management Don Vassiliadis, Chair of Diversity Keith Riel, Chair of Seniors Lesley Parnell, Chair of Arenas, Parks, & Recreation Kemi Akapo, Chair of Youth Don Vassiliadis, Chair of Economic Development Kim Zippel, Chair of Planning Diane Therrien, Vice-Chair of Planning Henry Clarke, Chair of Housing Keith Riel, Co-Chair of Housing

Diane Therrien, Chair of the following portfolios:

Intergovernmental Relations Civic Engagement and Public Relations Indigenous Relations and Consultation

# c) Advisory Committees

# i) Housing and Homelessness Advisory Committee

Henry Clarke Keith Riel

# ii) Arenas, Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee

Lesley Parnell Gary Baldwin

## iii) Arts, Culture and Heritage Advisory Committee

Keith Riel Dean Pappas

### iv) Boundary Committee

Diane Therrien Gary Baldwin Dean Pappas Don Vassiliadis Kim Zippel

## v) Cenotaph Advisory Committee

Henry Clarke

# vi) Citizen Appointment Selection Committee

Diane Therrien Gary Baldwin Keith Riel Dean Pappas Kim Zippel

## vii) Community Investment Grants Advisory Committee

Kemi Akapo Keith Riel

# viii) Museum and Archives Advisory Committee

Lesley Parnell

## ix) Procedure By-law Review Committee

Diane Therrien Gary Baldwin

## x) Youth Commission

Kemi Akapo

## xi) Age-friendly Peterborough Advisory Committee

Keith Riel

## xii) Environmental Advisory Committee

Kim Zippel

## d) Corporations and Legislatively Mandated Committees / Boards / Authorities

# i) Accessibility Advisory Committee

Henry Clarke

## ii) City/County Waste Management Committee

Kemi Akapo Gary Baldwin Don Vassiliadis

## iii) City of Peterborough Holdings Inc.

Diane Therrien Keith Riel

# iv) East City/Ashburnham Business Improvement Area

Keith Riel

### v) Fairhaven Committee of Management

Stephen Wright Keith Riel

## vi) Peterborough Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee

Kemi Akapo

### vii) Peterborough Regional Liaison Committee

Diane Therrien Henry Clarke Dean Pappas Keith Riel

# viii) Otonabee Region Conservation Authority

Gary Baldwin Diane Therrien Kim Zippel

## ix) Peterborough Public Health

Gary Baldwin Henry Clarke Don Vassiliadis

# x) Peterborough Downtown Business Improvement Area

Kemi Akapo

# xi) Peterborough Public Library Board

Kemi Akapo Henry Clarke

# xii) Peterborough Utilities Commission

Diane Therrien Gary Baldwin Dean Pappas Don Vassiliadis Stephen Wright

# xiii) Peterborough Police Services Board

Diane Therrien Gary Baldwin

# xiv) Planning Advisory Committee

Kim Zippel

# e) Liaison Committees

## i) Art Gallery of Peterborough, Board of Directors

Lesley Parnell

### ii) Canadian Canoe Museum

Gary Baldwin

#### iii) Downtown Action Committee

Diane Therrien Kemi Akapo Dean Pappas

# iv) Greater Peterborough Chamber of Commerce

Don Vassilidias

# v) Liaison Committee with Fleming College

Diane Therrien Lesley Parnell Kim Zippel

## vi) Liaison Committee with Trent University

Diane Therrien Andrew Beamer Gary Baldwin Don Vassiliadis

### vii) Market Hall Performance Centre

Henry Clarke

### viii) Multicultural Canada Day Committee

Dean Pappas

# ix) Peterborough Agricultural Society

Dean Pappas

# x) Peterborough Green Up

Kemi Akapo

# xi) Peterborough Housing Corporation

Keith Riel

## xii) Official Plan Working Group

Diane Therrien Lesley Parnell

### xiii) Showplace Performance Centre

Dean Pappas

# **Budget and Financial Implications**

There are no budget or financial implications as a result of this report.

# **Background**

The tradition in the City is for the Mayor to recommend the appointment of Members of Council to various committees and local boards, as well as liaisons to various municipal service areas (portfolios) of the Corporation. The recommendations in this report reflect the recommendations of the Mayor for 2020-2021 appointments. These appointments end on November 30, 2021 or as recommended by the Mayor.

Chairs of Standing Committees of Council are expected to oversee the meetings of the Standing Committee in accordance with the applicable legislation and the Procedure By-law.

Chairs of Portfolios act as a liaison with the Commissioner of the Portfolio, thereby developing more knowledge of the policy issues. The Chair, having the enhanced knowledge of the Portfolio, can then act as the Portfolio Liaison during Committee, Council or Community Meetings.

Submitted by,

Mayor Diane Therrien

Contact Name: Diane Therrien Mayor

Phone: 705-742-7777 Ext. 1870 Toll Free: 1-855-738-3755

Fax: 705-748-8861

E-Mail: dtherrien@peterborough.ca