

Special General Committee Minutes Council Chambers, City Hall

July 27, 2020

- Present: Councillor Akapo Councillor Baldwin Councillor Beamer, Chair Councillor Clarke Councillor Parnell Councillor Pappas Councillor Riel Mayor Therrien Councillor Vassiliadis Councillor Wright Councillor Zippel
- Staff: Sandra Clancy, Chief Administrative Officer Cynthia Fletcher, Commissioner of Infrastructure and Planning Services Richard Freymond, Commissioner of Corporate and Legislative Services Natalie Garnett, Deputy Clerk John Kennedy, City Clerk Sheldon Laidman, Commissioner of Community Services David Potts, City Solicitor/Manager of Legal Services Kendra Sedgwick, Committee Coordinator

Closed Session - 5:15 p.m.

The Clerk conducted a roll call.

Moved by Councillor Clarke

That Committee move into Closed Session to discuss one item under Section 239(2)(f) Advice that is subject to solicitor-client privilege, including communications necessary for that purpose.

The Clerk conducted the vote.

In support of motion: Councillor Wright, Mayor Therrien, Councillor Riel, Councillor Baldwin, Councillor Pappas, Councillor Akapo, Councillor Vassiliadis, Councillor Clarke, Councillor Zippel, Councillor Parnell, Councillor Beamer.

The motion carried.

The Chair recessed the Closed Meeting at 6:29 p.m.

Committee reconvened in Closed Session at 10:50 p.m. and the Clerk conducted a roll call.

Committee adjourned Closed Session at 11:09 p.m.

Committee reconvened in Open Session at 11:16 p.m. and the Clerk conducted a roll call.

Moved by Councillor Pappas

That Council authorize staff and the Mayor to proceed as outlined in Report CLSOCS20-001, dated July 27, 2020 of the City Solicitor.

In support of motion: Mayor Therrien, Councillor Riel, Councillor Baldwin, Councillor Pappas, Councillor Akapo, Councillor Vassiliadis, Councillor Zippel

Opposed to motion: Councillor Clarke, Councillor Parnell, Councillor Wright, Councillor Beamer

The motion carried.

Moved by Councillor Wright

That the meeting adjourn at 11:20 p.m.

The Clerk conducted the vote.

In support of motion: Councillor Wright, Mayor Therrien, Councillor Riel, Councillor Baldwin, Councillor Pappas, Councillor Akapo, Councillor Vassiliadis, Councillor Clarke, Councillor Zippel, Councillor Parnell, Councillor Beamer.

The motion carried.

John Kennedy

City Clerk

Councillor Beamer

Chair