

Finance Committee Minutes (Electronic Participation) City of Peterborough

June 8, 2020

Roll Call Councillor Akapo

Councillor Baldwin
Councillor Beamer
Councillor Clarke

Councillor Pappas, Chair

Councillor Parnell Councillor Riel Mayor Therrien

Councillor Vassiliadis Councillor Wright Councillor Zippel

Staff Sandra Clancy, Chief Administrative Officer

Cynthia Fletcher, Commissioner of Infrastructure and Planning Services Richard Freymond, Commissioner of Corporate and Legislative Services

Natalie Garnett, Deputy City Clerk

John Kennedy, City Clerk

Sheldon Laidman, Commissioner of Community Services

Bill McDougall, Budget and Operations Analyst Yvette Peplinskie, Manager of Financial Services

Kendra Sedgwick, Committee Coordinator

Brendan Wedley, Manager of Communication Services

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Councillor Pappas, Chair at 5:35 p.m. The Clerk conducted a roll call.

Confirmation of Minutes

Moved by Councillor Parnell

That the Finance Committee minutes of January 13-16, 2020 be approved.

The Clerk conducted the vote.

In support of motion: Councillor Beamer, Councillor Wright, Mayor Therrien, Councillor Riel, Councillor Baldwin, Councillor Akapo, Councillor Vassiliadis, Councillor Clarke, Councillor Zippel, Councillor Parnell, Councillor Pappas

The motion carried.

Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest

There were no disclosures of pecuniary interest.

Reports and Communications

Notice of Public Meeting - June 24, 2020

Report CLSFS20-030

Moved by Gary Baldwin

That Council approve the recommendations outlined in Report CLSFS20-030 dated June 8, 2020, of the Commissioner of Corporate and Legislative Services, as follows:

- a) That Report CLSFS20-030, advising Council that a public meeting will be held on June 24, 2020 at 6:00 pm, to present a 2021 preliminary Budget Guideline Report, as set out in Appendix A to Report CLSFS20-030, and to hear public delegations, be received.
- b) That a final version of the 2021 Guideline Report be presented to the July 6, 2020 Finance Committee meeting.

The Clerk conducted the vote.

In support of motion: Councillor Parnell, Councillor Zippel, Councillor Clarke, Councillor Vassiliadis, Councillor Akapo, Councillor Baldwin, Councillor Riel, Mayor Therrien, Councillor Wright, Councillor Beamer, Councillor Pappas

The motion carried.

Other Business

2021 Council Increase

Moved by Councillor Clarke

That Council forgo its 2021 increase to demonstrate leadership in the efforts to address the COVID-19 driven budget shortfall.

The Chair ruled the motion out of order. Councillor Clarke challenged the ruling of the Chair. The Clerk conducted the vote.

In support of the ruling of the Chair: Councillor Beamer, Councillor Wright, Mayor Therrien, Councillor Riel, Councillor Baldwin, Councillor Akapo, Councillor Vassiliadis, Councillor Zippel, Councillor Parnell, Councillor Pappas

Opposed to the ruling of the Chair: Councillor Clarke

The ruling of the Chair was upheld, and the motion was out of order.

Next Meeting - June 24, 2020

Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Zippel

That this meeting adjourn at 6:09 p.m.

The Clerk conducted the vote.

The motion carried.

City Clerk

In support of motion: Councillor Parnell, Councillor Zippel, Councillor Clarke, Councillor Vassiliadis, Councillor Akapo, Councillor Baldwin, Councillor Riel, Mayor Therrien, Councillor Wright, Councillor Beamer, Councillor Pappas

John Kennedy	

Councillor Pappas

Chair