

Special City Council Minutes (Electronic Participation) City of Peterborough

June 11, 2020

Present: Councillor Akapo

Councillor Baldwin Councillor Beamer Councillor Clarke Councillor Pappas Councillor Parnell Councillor Riel Mayor Therrien

Councillor Vassiliadis Councillor Wright Councillor Zippel

Staff: Sandra Clancy, Chief Administrative Officer

Cynthia Fletcher, Commissioner of Infrastructure and Planning Services Richard Freymond, Commissioner of Corporate and Legislative Services

Natalie Garnett, Deputy City Clerk

John Kennedy, City Clerk

Sheldon Laidman, Commissioner of Community Services David Potts, City Solicitor/Manager of Legal Services

Kendra Sedgwick, Committee Coordinator

Brendan Wedley, Manager of Communication Services

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 6:33 p.m. by Mayor Therrien. The Clerk conducted a roll call.

Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest

Councillor Pappas declared an interest in Report IPSPL20-010, CAO Delegation to Assist with Economic Recovery from COVID-19, and the Assistance with Recovery from COVID-19 recommendation from the General Committee meeting of June 8, 2020, as his family owns a business in the downtown.

Delegations - Items on the Agenda

None

Recommendation from General Committee meeting of June 8, 2020

Assistance with Recovery from COVID-19

Due to his previously declared interest, Councillor Pappas did not discuss or vote on the matter.

Moved by Councillor Vassiliadis Seconded by Councillor Clarke

- a) That Council direct the CAO, on a case by case basis, to work with businesses to facilitate timely reopening,
- b) To report to Council in September on any costs incurred during the process,
- c) That staff provide an ongoing update to the Mayor and Warden's Economic Recovery Task Force,
- d) That a Special Council meeting be scheduled for Thursday, June 11, 2020 to pass a by-law delegating authority to the CAO.

The Clerk conducted the vote.

In support of motion: Councillor Parnell, Councillor Zippel, Councillor Vassiliadis, Councillor Clarke, Councillor Beamer, Councillor Wright, Councillor Riel, Councillor Baldwin, Councillor Akapo, Mayor Therrien

The motion carried.

Recommendation from Special General Committee meeting of June 11, 2020

CAO Delegation to Assist with Economic Recovery from COVID-19

Report IPSPL20-010

Due to his previously declared interest, Councillor Pappas did not discuss or vote on the matter.

Moved by Councillor Beamer Seconded by Councillor Wright

That Council approve the recommendation outlined in Report IPSPL20-010 dated June 11, 2020, of the Commissioner of Infrastructure and Planning, as follows:

That the draft CAO Delegation By-law, COVID-19 Recovery, attached as Appendix A, be approved.

The Clerk conducted the vote.

In support of motion: Councillor Akapo, Councillor Baldwin, Councillor Riel, Councillor Wright, Councillor Beamer, Councillor Clarke, Councillor Vassiliadis, Councillor Zippel, Councillor Parnell, Mayor Therrien.

The motion carried.

Approval of By-laws

Due to his previously declared interest, Councillor Pappas did not discuss or vote on the matter.

Moved by Councillor Akapo Seconded by Councillor Baldwin

20-041 Being a by-law to delegate authority to the CAO for sidewalk and

road closures and speed adjustments during COVID-19 pandemic recovery to support businesses re-opening.

The Clerk conducted the vote.

In support of motion: Councillor Parnell, Councillor Zippel, Councillor Vassiliadis, Councillor Clarke, Councillor Beamer, Councillor Wright, Councillor Riel, Councillor Baldwin, Councillor Akapo, Mayor Therrien

The motion carried.

Confirmation By-law

Due to his previously declared interest, Councillor Pappas did not discuss or vote on the matter.

Moved by Councillor Zippel Seconded by Councillor Parnell

20-042 Being a by-law to confirm the proceedings of Council at its special meeting held on June 11, 2020.

The Clerk conducted the vote.

In support of motion: Councillor Akapo, Councillor Baldwin, Councillor Riel, Councillor Wright, Councillor Beamer, Councillor Clarke, Councillor Vassiliadis, Councillor Zippel, Councillor Parnell, Mayor Therrien.

The motion carried.

Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Pappas Seconded by Councillor Riel

That this meeting adjourn at 6:39 p.m.

The Clerk conducted the vote.

In support of motion: Councillor Parnell, Councillor Zippel, Councillor Vassiliadis, Councillor Clarke, Councillor Beamer, Councillor Wright, Councillor Riel, Councillor Baldwin, Councillor Akapo, Councillor Pappas, Mayor Therrien

The motion carried.	
John Kennedy	
City Clerk	
Diane Therrien	
Mayor	