

To: Members of the General Committee

From: John Kennedy, City Clerk

Meeting Date: April 8, 2019

Subject: Report CLSCLK19-010

Peterborough Housing Corporation Board Appointment

Purpose

A report to recommend appointments to the Peterborough Housing Corporation (PHC) Board of Directors.

Recommendation

That Council approve the recommendation outlined in Report CLSCLK19-010 dated April 8, 2019, of the City Clerk, as follows:

That Mary Hay be reappointed to the Peterborough Housing Corporation Board of Directors, for a 3 year term from April 1, 2019 to March 31, 2022.

Budget and Financial Implications

There are no direct budget or financial implications as a result of the adoption of the recommendation.

Background

In 1999, the responsibility for social housing administration was devolved from the province to 47 municipalities, designated as Service Managers. The *Social Housing Reform Act, 2000* (the "SHRA") was enacted to enable the devolution and provide for social housing reform. The SHRA also replaced the Peterborough Housing Authority with

a municipally controlled housing corporation, thus creating Peterborough Housing Corporation. PHC is also subject to the provisions of the **Ontario Business Corporations Act.**

The Corporation of the City of Peterborough, as the designated Service Manager, was allocated 100% of the shares of PHC. Under the **Housing Services Act, 2011**, successor legislation to the SHRA, the City as Service Manager is mandated to establish rules governing the accountability of PHC to the Service Manager. These rules have in part been included in a Shareholder Direction, which was introduced in 2011 and amended in 2016 (Reports OCS11-014 and PLPD16-072).

The Shareholder Direction requires that the Board of Directors for PHC include:

- An elected representative each from City and County councils;
- A non-voting community advisor, and
- A Service Manager advisor from the City of Peterborough.

The remaining appointments to the board are recommended by the Nominating Committee, and approved by City Council. The majority of the board members are required to be citizens of Canada and reside within the Service Area. Qualifications for directors include knowledge of:

- Affordable Housing legislation, related policies and issues;
- Real Estate Development and Financing;
- Corporate finance and financial services;
- Corporate governance, and
- Organizational development.

Update on Board Appointments and Recruitment

Through City Report COU18-001, City Mayor Therrien was appointed the new elected representative of the City of Peterborough. The County of Peterborough appointed Mayor Clarkson, of the Municipality of Trent Lakes, under article 4.2.2 of the Shareholder Direction. Their terms on the PHC Board were effective on January 1, 2019.

At the PHC board meeting held February 20, 2019, the PHC Board passed the following resolution:

"On a motion by David Tilley, seconded by Diane Therrien and carried, it was **RESOLVED** to nominate Mary Hay to be member on the Board."

Mary Hay was formerly a Superintendent with the Simcoe County District School Board and councillor for the Township of Asphodel-Norwood. Her term was due to expire on March 30, 2019. The new recommended term would expire on March 31, 2022.

Nominating Committee

There are three remaining board vacancies: Larry Love resigned in 2018, and Jack Gillan and Ken Andrews decided not to seek reappointment after their terms – which expire on March 30, 2019. A Nominating Committee was struck at the February 20, 2019 PHC board meeting, tasked with undertaking a public recruitment campaign in the City and County. The Nominating Committee includes directors, the Service Manager advisor, the community advisor and PHC staff. They will work to fill these vacancies and a staff report with their recommendations will follow. Table 1 below outlines the proposed composition of the Board and their respective terms of office.

Table 1 Proposed PHC Board of Directors

Name	Appointment Date	Term	Expiry Date
Diane Therrien (City	December 3, 2018	1 year	December 31, 2019
Council)			
Janet Clarkson (County	January 3, 2019	2 years	December 31, 2020
Council)			
Bonnie Clark	April 1, 2017	3 years	March 31, 2020
Terry Low	April 1, 2017	3 years	March 31, 2020
Dave Tilley	April 1, 2018	3 years	March 31, 2021
Ken Smith	April 1, 2018	3 years	March 31, 2021
Linda Kehoe	April 1, 2018	3 years	March 31, 2021
Mary Hay	April 1, 2019	3 years	March 31, 2022
3 Vacant Positions	TBD	3 years	TBD

Submitted by,

John Kennedy City Clerk

Contact Name:

Phone: 705-742-7777 Ext. 1799

Toll Free: 1-855-738-3755

Fax: 705-742-4138

E-Mail: jkennedy@peterborough.ca