

City Council Minutes

Peterborough Sport and Wellness Centre

June 11, 2019

Present: CouncillorAkapo Councillor Baldwin Councillor Beamer Councillor Clarke Councillor Parnell Councillor Pappas Councillor Riel Mayor Therrien Councillor Vassiliadis Councillor Wright Councillor Zippel

Staff: Natalie Garnett, Deputy Clerk

Call to Order

Opening of Meeting

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. at the Peterborough Sport and Wellness Centre.

National Anthem

The National Anthem was performed by Ava Zinn.

Welcome and Opening Remarks

Mayor Therrien provided introductory remarks regarding the 2018 Civic Awards.

Civic Awards Format

Councillor Parnell provided an overview of the various Civic Award Categories and explained the process that is followed to determine who will receive awards.

Presentation of Civic Awards

Moved by Councillor Baldwin Seconded by Councillor Parnell

That the Civic Awards consisting of Community Betterment, Cultural Betterment, Environmental Stewardship/Sustainability, Athletic Award of Merit, Junior Athlete of the Year, Adult Athlete of the Year, Senior Athlete of the Year, Youth Volunteer of the Year, Volunteer of the Year and Lifetime Achievement Award be presented at this time.

Carried

Awards were presented as follows:

Cultural Betterment

Colleen Ablett **Activity Haven Kitchen Volunteers** Elsie Akey Community Care Volunteer Transportation Team Jovce Cook Carol & David Fisher Cyndie Forget Bill Heffernan John Holmes Lunchtime Organ Recital Series (St. Paul's Church) The Mount Crew Marcel Prevost Sandra Stebbings **Betty Sommers** Ann Thomas Kaes Vanderkoov Winterfest Committee (Five Counties Children's Centre) Craig White

Cultural Betterment

Malcolm Byard & Ryan Kemp Karen Carter-Edwards Jeanine Leahy Madison More

Environmental Stewardship/Sustainability

Endeavour Centre Kawartha World Issues Centre Carlotta James and Peterborough Pollinators

Athletic Award of Merit

Isabella Bowen Frances Crowe Stephen Evans Junior C Lakers Kawartha Trent Synchro Club Combo Team Kari Lynde Peterborough Minor Lacrosse Association Tyke 1 Peterborough Select Women's Ball Hockey Team Len Warriner

Junior Athlete of the Year

Taya Keast

Adult Athlete of the Year

Jonathan Shanley

Senior Athlete of the Year

Sylvia Cashmore

Youth Volunteer of the Year

Chole Yu

Volunteer of the Year

David Edgerton

Lifetime Achievement Award

Bill Morris

Confirmation By-law

Moved by Councillor Vassiliadis Seconded by Councillor Akapo

19-061 Being a By-law to confirm the proceedings of the Council at its meeting held on June 11, 2019

and the said by-law, having been read a third time and passed, the Mayor and Deputy Clerk be authorized to sign and seal the same.

Carried

Closing Remarks

Mayor Therrien provided closing remarks.

Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Pappas Seconded by Councillor Riel

That the Council meeting adjourn at 9:01 p.m.

Carried

Natalie Garnett

Deputy City Clerk

Diane Therrien

Mayor