

To: Members of Council

From: Mayor Diane Therrien

Meeting Date: December 3, 2018

Subject: Report COU18-001

Council Appointments to Committees and Boards

Purpose

A report recommending the appointment of Members of Council to various Committees, Portfolios and Boards.

Recommendations

That Council approve the recommendations outlined in Report COU18-001, dated December 3, 2018, as follows:

That the following appointments of Members of Council to Committees, Portfolios and Boards be approved for a one-year term ending November 30, 2019, with the appointments as follow:

a) Standing committees

Finance Committee (all Members of Council)

Dean Pappas, Chair Gary Baldwin, Vice Chair

General Committee (all Members of Council)

Andrew Beamer, Chair Keith Riel, Vice Chair

Deputy Mayor

Andrew Beamer, First Deputy Mayor Kemi Akapo, Second Deputy Mayor

b) Portfolios

Keith Riel, Chair of Arts, Culture and Heritage Portfolio Dean Pappas, Chair of Finance Portfolio Andrew Beamer, Chair of Fire Services Portfolio Kim Zippel, Vice-Chair of Fire Services Portfolio Don Vassiliadis, Chair of Public Works Portfolio Keith Riel, Chair of Social Services Portfolio Kemi Akapo, Chair of Transportation Portfolio Gary Baldwin, Chair of Waste Management Portfolio Don Vassiliadis, Chair of Diversity Portfolio Keith Riel, Chair of Seniors Portfolio Lesley Parnell, Chair of Arenas Portfolio Kim Zippel, Chair of Parks & Recreation Portfolio Kemi Akapo, Chair of Youth Portfolio Stephen Wright, Vice-Chair of Economic Development Portfolio Diane Therrien, Chair of Planning Portfolio Gary Baldwin, Vice-Chair of Planning Portfolio

Diane Therrien, Chair of the following portfolios:

Economic Development
Governance
Intergovernmental Relations
Civic Engagement and Public Relations
Strategic Initiatives
Indigenous Relations and Consultation

c) Advisory Committees

i) Housing and Homelessness Advisory Committee

Diane Therrien

ii) Arenas, Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee

Lesley Parnell Kim Zippel

iii) Arts, Culture and Heritage Advisory Committee

Andrew Beamer Keith Riel

iv) Boundary Committee

Diane Therrien Gary Baldwin Dean Pappas Don Vassiliadis Kim Zippel

v) Cenotaph Advisory Committee

Henry Clarke

vi) Citizen Appointment Selection Committee

Diane Therrien Gary Baldwin Keith Riel Dean Pappas Kim Zippel

vii) Community Investment Grants Advisory Committee

Kemi Akapo Keith Riel

viii) Museum and Archives Advisory Committee

Lesley Parnell

ix) Procedure By-law Review Committee

Diane Therrien Gary Baldwin

x) Youth Commission

Kemi Akapo

xi) Age-friendly Peterborough Advisory Committee

Keith Riel

xii) Environmental Advisory Committee

Kim Zippel

d) Corporations and Legislatively Mandated Committees / Boards / Authorities

i) Accessibility Advisory Committee

Henry Clarke

ii) City/County Waste Management Committee

Kemi Akapo Gary Baldwin Don Vassiliadis

iii) City of Peterborough Holdings Inc.

Diane Therrien Keith Riel

iv) East City/Ashburnham Business Improvement Area

Keith Riel

v) Fairhaven Committee of Management

Stephen Wright Keith Riel

vi) Joint Services Steering Committee

Gary Baldwin Andrew Beamer Dean Pappas Keith Riel

vii) Peterborough Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee

Henry Clarke

viii) Otonabee Region Conservation Authority

Diane Therrien Gary Baldwin Kim Zippel

ix) Peterborough Public Health

Henry Clarke Don Vassiliadis Kim Zippel

x) Peterborough Downtown Business Improvement Area

Kemi Akapo

xi) Peterborough Public Library Board

Kemi Akapo Henry Clarke

xii) Peterborough Utilities Commission

Diane Therrien Gary Baldwin Don Vassiliadis Stephen Wright Kim Zippel

xiii) Peterborough Police Services Board

Diane Therrien Gary Baldwin

xiv) Planning Advisory Committee

Diane Therrien

e) Liaison Committees

i) Art Gallery of Peterborough, Board of Directors

Lesley Parnell

ii) Downtown Action Committee

Diane Therrien Kemi Akapo Dean Pappas

iii) Greater Peterborough Chamber of Commerce

Stephen Wright

iv) Liaison Committee with Fleming College

Diane Therrien Lesley Parnell Kim Zippel

v) Liaison Committee with Trent University

Diane Therrien Andrew Beamer Gary Baldwin Don Vassiliadis

vi) Multicultural Canada Day Committee

Dean Pappas

vii) Peterborough Agricultural Society

Stephen Wright

viii) Peterborough Housing Authority

Diane Therrien

ix) Official Plan Working Group

Lesley Parnell Diane Therrien

Budget and Financial Implications

There are no budget or financial implications as a result of this report.

Background

The tradition in the City is for the Mayor to recommend the appointment of Members of Council to various committees and local boards, as well as liaisons to various municipal service areas (portfolios) of the Corporation. The recommendations in this report reflect the recommendations of the Mayor for 2018-19 appointments. These appointments end on November 30, 2019.

Chairs of Standing Committees of Council are expected to oversee the meetings of the Standing Committee in accordance with the applicable legislation and the Procedure

Chairs of Portfolios act as a liaison with the Commissioner of the Portfolio, thereby developing more knowledge of the policy issues. The Chair, having the enhanced knowledge of the Portfolio, can then act as the Portfolio Liaison during Committee. Council or Community Meetings.

A new advisory committee is proposed as per c) xii. The purpose of the Environmental Advisory Committee is to provide comment regarding development proposals related to natural heritage and related policies. A report will be presented to Council for their consideration early in the 2019 with further details on the committee, including a draft terms of reference.

A new portfolio has been created as per b) Indigenous Relations and Consultation. This portfolio will focus on establishing and strengthening relationships and consultation processes with Williams Treaty First Nations and urban Indigenous communities.

Submitted by,

Mayor Diane Therrien

Contact Name: Diane Therrien Mayor

Phone: 705-742-7777 Ext. 1870 Toll Free: 1-855-738-3755

Fax: 705-748-8861

E-Mail: dtherrien@peterborough.ca