

Peterborough

То:	Members of Committee of the Whole
From:	Mayor Daryl Bennett
Meeting Date:	October 17, 2016
Subject:	Report COU16-003 Council Appointments to Committees and Boards

Purpose

A report recommending the appointment of Members of Council to various Committees, Portfolios and Boards.

Recommendations

That Council approve the recommendations outlined in Report COU16-003, dated October 17, 2016, as follows:

That the following appointments of Members of Council to Committees, Portfolios and Boards be approved for a one-year term ending November 30, 2017, with the appointments as follow:

a) Standing committees

Budget Committee (all Members of Council)

Henry Clarke, Chair Andrew Beamer, Vice Chair

Committee of the Whole (all Members of Council)

Andrew Beamer, Chair Dean Pappas, Vice Chair

Planning Committee (all Members of Council)

Lesley Parnell, Chair Dean Pappas, Vice Chair

Audit Committee

Daryl Bennett Henry Clarke, Chair Gary Baldwin, Vice Chair Don Vassiliadis Andrew Beamer

Deputy Mayor

Henry Clarke, First Deputy Mayor Dan McWilliams, Second Deputy Mayor

b) Portfolios

Dean Pappas, Chair of Arts, Culture and Heritage Portfolio Henry Clarke, Chair of Finance Portfolio Dan McWilliams, Chair of Fire Services Portfolio Don Vassiliadis, Vice-Chair of Fire Services Portfolio Lesley Parnell, Chair of Public Works Portfolio Keith Riel, Chair of Social Services Portfolio Don Vassiliadis, Chair of Transportation Portfolio Gary Baldwin, Chair of Waste Management Portfolio Dean Pappas, Chair of Diversity Portfolio Keith Riel, Chair of Seniors Portfolio Dave Haacke, Chair of Arenas Portfolio Gary Baldwin, Chair of Parks & Recreation Portfolio Diane Therrien, Chair of Youth Portfolio Dan McWilliams, Vice-Chair of Economic Development Portfolio

Daryl Bennett, Chair of the following portfolios:

Economic Development Governance Human Resources Intergovernmental Relations Public Relations Strategic Initiatives Specific committee appointments such as the Eastern Ontario Mayors' Committee and legislative responsibilities.

c) Advisory Committees

i) Affordable Housing Action Committee

Diane Therrien

ii) Arenas, Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee

Dave Haacke Gary Baldwin

iii) Arts, Culture and Heritage Advisory Committee

Lesley Parnell Dean Pappas

iv) Boundary Committee

Daryl Bennett Andrew Beamer Henry Clarke Dan McWilliams

v) Cenotaph Advisory Committee

Henry Clarke

vi) Citizen Appointment Selection Committee

Andrew Beamer Henry Clarke Dave Haacke Dan McWilliams Dean Pappas

vii) Community Investment Grants Advisory Committee

Dan McWilliams Keith Riel

viii) Museum and Archives Advisory Committee

Keith Riel

ix) Procedural By-law Review Committee

Daryl Bennett Henry Clarke

x) Youth Commission

Diane Therrien

d) Corporations and Legislatively Mandated Committees / Boards / Authorities

i) Accessibility Advisory Committee

Keith Riel

ii) City/County Waste Management Committee

Gary Baldwin Dean Pappas Don Vassiliadis

iii) City of Peterborough Holdings Inc.

Daryl Bennett Dan McWilliams

iv) East City/Ashburnham Business Improvement Area

Keith Riel

v) Fairhaven Committee of Management

Dave Haacke Keith Riel

vi) Joint Services Steering Committee

Daryl Bennett Andrew Beamer Henry Clarke Gary Baldwin

vii) Peterborough Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee

Dean Pappas

Daryl Bennett Andrew Beamer Don Vassiliadis

ix) Peterborough County-City Health Unit

Gary Baldwin Henry Clarke Lesley Parnell

x) Peterborough Downtown Business Improvement Area

Diane Therrien

xi) Peterborough Public Library Board

Gary Baldwin Keith Riel

xii) Peterborough Utilities Commission

Daryl Bennett Gary Baldwin Dave Haacke Lesley Parnell Don Vassiliadis

xiii) Peterborough Police Services Board

Dave Haacke Dan McWilliams

e) Liaison Committees

i) Art Gallery of Peterborough, Board of Directors

Daryl Bennett

ii) Downtown Action Committee

Daryl Bennett Diane Therrien Dean Pappas

iii) Greater Peterborough Chamber of Commerce

Daryl Bennett

iv) Liaison Committee with Fleming College

Daryl Bennett Diane Therrien Lesley Parnell

v) Liaison Committee with Trent University

Daryl Bennett Andrew Beamer Dean Pappas Don Vassiliadis

vi) Multicultural Canada Day Committee

Dean Pappas

vii) Peterborough Agricultural Society

Dave Haacke

viii) Peterborough Housing Authority

Andrew Beamer

ix) Shining Waters Railway Board of Directors

Daryl Bennett

Budget and Financial Implications

There are no budget or financial implications as a result of this report.

Background

The tradition in the City is for the Mayor to recommend the appointment of Members of Council to various committees and local boards, as well as liaisons to various municipal service areas (portfolios) of the Corporation. The recommendations in this report reflect the recommendations of the Mayor for 2017 appointments. These appointments end on November 30, 2017.

Chairs of Standing Committees of Council are expected to oversee the meetings of the Standing Committee in accordance with the applicable legislation and the Procedural By-Law.

Chairs of Portfolios act as a liaison with the Director of the Portfolio, thereby developing more knowledge of the policy issues. The Chair, having the enhanced knowledge of the Portfolio, can then act as the Portfolio Liaison during Committee, Council or Community Meetings.

While almost all of the appointments remain the same for the next year, there are a couple of notable changes. When this term began almost two years ago, I decided to serve as Council's representative on the Downtown Business Improvement Area (DBIA) Board of Management. With these appointments, we will resume the tradition of a Town Ward councillor serving on this local board of the municipality as Councillor Diane Therrien will be Council's representative on the Board. With Councillor Therrien's move to the DBIA Board, I will take on the appointment to the Art Gallery of Peterborough Board of Directors, maintaining this essential relationship between City Council and this prominent cultural institution in the community.

Over the first two years of this Council term, Council members have effectively utilized this structure to enhance their efforts as individual members of Council within the community and to provide assistance to Council as a whole as it works to create positive change for the future of the City of Peterborough.

Submitted by,

Mayor Daryl Bennett

Contact Name: Daryl Bennett Mayor Phone: 705-742-7777 Ext. 1870 Toll Free: 1-855-738-3755 Fax: 705-748-8861 E-Mail: <u>dbennett@peterborough.ca</u>