

# City Council Minutes City of Peterborough December 1, 2014 Draft Minutes Not Approved

### Minutes of a Meeting of City Council Held on December 1, 2014, in the Council Chambers.

The City Council meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers, City Hall.

#### Roll Call:

Councillor Baldwin

Councillor Beamer

Councillor Clarke

Councillor Haacke

Councillor McWilliams

Councillor Pappas

Councillor Parnell

Councillor Riel

Councillor Therrien

Councillor Vassiliadis

Mayor Bennett

John Kennedy, City Clerk welcomed everyone to the Inaugural Council meeting of 2014-2018 City Council.

The City Clerk announced the results of the Municipal Election held on October 27, 2014.

The Mayor Elect and Councillors Elect took their Declarations of Elected Office before the City Clerk.

Mr. Cy Monkman addressed Council to extend congratulations to the Mayor and Members of Council and provide a brief history of the Chain of Office.

Mr. Monkman invested the Mayor with the Chain of Office.

Reverend Dr. Donovan L. Brown offered an Inaugural Prayer for the work of Council throughout the term of office.

Councillor Brian Cowie, provided greetings from Hiawatha First Nation.

Councillor Keith Knott, provided greetings from Curve Lake First Nation.

Karen Feeley, provided greetings from the Government of Canada.

The Mayor read greetings from Jeff Leal on behalf of the Province of Ontario.

Warden Jones provided greetings from the County of Peterborough.

Mayor Bennett presented his Inaugural Address.

#### Mayor Daryl Bennett Report COU14-002

#### **Council Appointments to Various Committees, Portfolios and Boards**

Moved by Councillor Clarke, seconded by Councillor Vassiliadis

#### 1) Standing Committees

#### **Audit Committee**

Daryl Bennett Henry Clarke, Chair Gary Baldwin, Vice Chair Andrew Beamer Don Vassiliadis

#### **Budget Committee (all Members of Council)**

Henry Clarke, Chair Andrew Beamer, Vice Chair

#### **Committee of the Whole (all Members of Council)**

Andrew Beamer, Chair Dean Pappas, Vice Chair

#### Planning Committee (all Members of Council)

Lesley Parnell, Chair Dean Pappas, Vice Chair

#### 2) Deputy Mayors

#### **First Deputy Mayor**

Henry Clarke

#### **Second Deputy Mayor**

Dan McWilliams

#### 3) Portfolios

#### **Arenas**

Dave Haacke, Chair

#### **Arts, Culture & Heritage**

Dean Pappas, Chair

#### **Diversity**

Dean Pappas, Chair

#### **Economic Development**

Daryl Bennett, Chair Dan McWilliams, Vice Chair

#### **Finance**

Henry Clarke, Chair

#### Fire

Dan McWilliams, Chair Don Vassiliadis, Vice Chair

#### Governance

Daryl Bennett, Chair

#### **Human Resources**

Daryl Bennett, Chair

#### **Intergovernmental Relations**

Daryl Bennett, Chair

#### Parks & Recreation

Diane Therrien, Chair

#### **Public Relations**

Daryl Bennett, Chair

#### **Public Works**

Lesley Parnell, Chair

#### Seniors

Keith Riel, Chair

#### **Social Services**

Keith Riel, Chair

#### Specific ad-hoc committee appointments

Daryl Bennett, Chair

#### Strategic Initiatives

Daryl Bennett, Chair

#### **Transportation**

Don Vassiliadis, Chair

#### **Waste Management**

Gary Baldwin, Chair

#### Youth

Diane Therrien, Chair

#### 4) Advisory Committees

#### Affordable Housing Action Committee

Diane Therrien

#### Arenas, Parks & Recreation Advisory Committee

Dave Haacke Diane Therrien

#### Arts, Culture & Heritage Advisory Committee

Dean Pappas Lesley Parnell

#### **Boundary Committee**

Daryl Bennett Andrew Beamer Henry Clarke Dan McWilliams

#### **Cenotaph Advisory Committee**

Henry Clarke

#### **Citizen Appointment Selection Committee**

Daryl Bennett Andrew Beamer Henry Clarke Dave Haacke Dan McWilliams Dean Pappas

#### **Community Investment Grants Advisory Committee**

Dan McWilliams

Keith Riel

#### **Museum and Archives Advisory Committee**

Keith Riel

#### **Procedure By-law Review Committee**

Daryl Bennett Henry Clarke

#### 5) Liaison Committees

#### Art Gallery of Peterborough, Board of Directors

Diane Therrien

#### **Downtown Action Committee**

Daryl Bennett

Dean Pappas

Diane Therrien

#### **Greater Peterborough Chamber of Commerce**

**Daryl Bennett** 

#### **Liaison Committee with Fleming College**

Daryl Bennett

Lesley Parnell

Diane Therrien

#### **Liaison Committee with Trent University**

Daryl Bennett

**Andrew Beamer** 

Dean Pappas

Don Vassiliadis

#### **Multicultural Canada Day Committee**

Dean Pappas

#### **Peterborough Agricultural Society**

Dave Haacke

#### Peterborough Musicfest - Board of Directors

Diane Therrien

#### Shining Waters Railway Board of Directors

Daryl Bennett

### 6) Corporations and Legislatively Mandated Committees Boards/ Authorities

#### **Accessibility Advisory Committee**

Keith Riel

#### City of Peterborough Holdings Inc.

Daryl Bennett
Dan McWilliams

#### **City/County Waste Management Committee**

Gary Baldwin Dean Pappas Don Vassiliadis

#### East City/Ashburnham Business Improvement Area

Keith Riel

#### **Fairhaven Committee of Management**

Dave Haacke Keith Riel

#### Joint Services Steering Committee

Daryl Bennett Gary Baldwin Andrew Beamer Henry Clarke

#### **Otonabee Region Conservation Authority**

Daryl Bennett Andrew Beamer Don Vassiliadis

### Peterborough Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee

Dean Pappas

#### **Peterborough County-City Health Unit**

Gary Baldwin Henry Clarke Lesley Parnell

#### Peterborough Downtown Business Improvement Area

Daryl Bennett

#### **Peterborough Housing Corporation**

Andrew Beamer

#### Peterborough Lakefield Police Services Board

Dan McWilliams (December 1, 2014 - December 31, 2014)

#### **Peterborough Police Services Board**

Henry Clarke (December 1, 2014 – to December 31, 2014) Dave Haacke (January 1, 2015 – November 30, 2015) Dan McWilliams

#### Peterborough Public Library Board

Gary Baldwin Keith Riel

#### **Peterborough Utilities Commission**

Daryl Bennett Gary Baldwin Dave Haacke Lesley Parnell Don Vassiliadis

"CARRIED"

#### **Confirmatory By-law**

Moved by Councillor Clarke, seconded by Councillor Haacke

That the following by-law be read a first, second and third time:

14-137 Being a By-law to confirm the proceedings of the Council at its meeting held on December 1, 2014.

and the said by-law, having been now read a first, second and third time and passed, the Mayor and Clerk be authorized to sign and seal the same.

"CARRIED"

#### Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Pappas, seconded by Councillor Baldwin

That this meeting of City Council adjourn at 3:50 p.m.

"CARRIED"

John Kennedy City Clerk

Daryl Bennett Mayor